Very little remains of the early 14th century Chapel, apart from the east window which is visible from the Stanley Gill Room, having been revealed during the 1986 restoration.
The Chapel itself was largely rebuilt in the 1740s, which was also when the very fine hand carved plasterwork was carried out. It is one of the most impressive large scale displays of decorative plasterwork in Devon.
The tower was added to the west end of the Chapel in the late 15th century and has a fine Perpendicular Gothic West Window.
The room to the east of the chapel, named the Stanley Gill Room, was built in the 1880s. It was the town library and now houses the unique Archives.
Further additions were added in the form of corridor, classrooms and kitchen between 1907-11, to expand the school accommodation.
The whole building was listed in 1951 with a Grade II* status, reflecting the importance of this unique historic building.
There are a wealth of interesting features in the building, including –
There are many other features of interest that can be seen. Our guide books are produced in various languages to assist visitors. We also have quiz tour sheets for children.
Escorted ascents of the tower to view the historic town and surrounding medieval field systems are available on Heritage Open Days each year on the second Saturday and Sunday in September -Saturday from 10am - 4pm and Sunday 2pm - 4pm. See also our Events page which will have details nearer the time.
Founded 1314. Owned by the Guild of St. Lawrence. Registered Charity number 290810
Site Content © 2010 Guild of St. Lawrence. Site Design and Development by MightyMeta